The Co-Op Reference Letter

& why I wish everyone asked for one

Ashley Southard
5 min readMar 10, 2020

One of my best friends asked me the other day to write a co-op reference letter for her. I ran with it. I loved that since this was a living situation letter that speaks to the person as a whole, it was fun and expressive, unlike a professional and dry work/school reference letter.

After writing it, it made me (1) miss her even more, and (2) realize I want to write every single one of my friends one, whether they need one or not.

What if we all wrote “reference” letters about our loved ones that speak to why they’re deserving of living wherever their hearts desire?

If we were to write an imaginary co-op board reference letter and share it with family members, friends, and significant others, we’d get a chance to express our admiration and adoration without the sappiness and weirdness of a random letter of admiration and adoration.

Humans possess as basic need to be understood.

Everyone, at the core, simply wants to be seen and understood. But many (most) of us tend to shrink in the face of vulnerability. It’s why so many people don’t express their admiration and adoration — it feels weird. We…

--

--